New Music Friday, April 23, 2021

New Music Friday on The High Note

Every week I feel like a musical archaeologist who is out there trying to uncover new albums that are released every Friday. No matter how big the bounty, every week is a successful mission when I find some new music.

I feel especially happy with my haul today for New Music Friday, April 23, 2021. Dinosaur Jr. with its original lineup, has a solid new album “Sweep It Into Space,” and English alternative rock band Field Music is out with “Flat White Moon.”

Fans of The Mars Volta can rejoice at the unreleased material from the De-Loused in the Comatorium which is “Landscape Tantrums.” Nothing feels like summer more than Lil Yachty so I’ll be soaking up some rays while listening to “Michigan Boat Boy.”

Lastly, jazz fans shouldn’t miss the release from the mysterious Hasaan Ibn Ali, the Philadelphia pianist who famously played with Max Roach – Metaphysics: “The Lost Atlantic Album,” which was thought for years to be taken by fire.

As always, the full list of albums released today, Friday, April 21, is below in no particular order. My most anticipated albums are in bold. Let me know what you’re listening to in the comments below and on social media.

New Album Releases – Friday, April 21, 2021

Alan Vega – Mutator
Bodom After Midnight – Paint the Sky with Blood
Dinosaur Jr. – Sweep It Into Space
Dirty Honey – Dirty Honey
Dumpstaphunk – Where Do We Go From Here
Eric Church – Soul
Ethel Cain – Inbred
Field Music – Flat White Moon
Fog Lake – Tragedy Reel
Gilby Clarke – The Gospel Truth
Justin Moore – Straight Outta the Country
Kaleo – Surface Sounds
Lilith Czar – Created from Filth and Dust
Lil Yachty – Michigan Boat Boy
The Mars Volta – Landscape Tantrums
Moneybagg Yo A Gangsta’s Pain
Motörhead – Louder Than Noise… Live in Berlin
The Peter Frampton Band – Peter Frampton Forgets the Words
PJ Harding and Noah Cyrus – People Don’t Change
Porter Robinson – Nurture
Remember Sports – Like a Stone
Shy FX and Breakage – Darker Than Blue
Sir Sly – The Rise and Fall of Loverboy
Steve Cropper – Fire It Up
Tom Jones – Surrounded by Time
Paysage d’Hiver – Geister
Houston Kendrick – Small Infinity
Hhannahg Jadagu – What Is Going On?
Animal Collective – Crestone [Original Score]
Sonic Boom – Almost Nothing Is Nearly Enough
GospelbeacH – Jam Jam
Still Dreams – Make Believe
Kero Kero Bonito – Civilisation II
Alfa Mist – Bring Backs
Jeff Rosenstock – Ska Dream
Art D’Ecco – In Standard Definition
Bongzilla – Weedsconsin
Sufjan Stevens – Revelations
Arooj Aftab – Vulture Prince
Hassan Ibn Ali – Metaphysics: The Lost Atlantic Album