New Music Friday, Sept. 8, 2023

New Music Friday on The High Note

It’s back to school time and The High Note is in session with yet another session of New Music Friday for all the new albums released for Friday, Sept. 8, 2023 to get you through that first-weekend homework session.

The Chemical Brothers are back, pulsating our eardrums with their electrifying “For That Beautiful Feeling.” Courtney Barnett reflects on the “End of the Day,” blending her introspective lyrics with her iconic indie rock sound.

I am brought straight back to my Warped Tour days with ska band Mustard Plug revving up nostalgic rhythms with “Where Did All My Friends Go?”

90s indie-rockers Sparklehorse have put together a collection of songs recorded prior to Mark Linkous’ 2010 suicide on “Bird Machine.”

All my jam band fans will lean into The String Cheese Incident’s “Lend Me a Hand” and for the folk fans, I can’t forget about The  Blind Boys of Alabama and Tall Tall Trees.

As always the entire list of new albums released today, Friday, Sept. 8, 2023 is below in no particular order. Let me know what you’re listening to in the comments below and on @highnoteblog.

New Album Releases – Friday, September 8, 2023

Alabaster DePlume – Come with Fierce Grace
Allison Russell – The Returner
Angel Dust – Brand New Soul
Anjimile – The King
Ashley McBryde – The Devil I Know
The Chemical Brothers – For That Beautiful Feeling
Courtney Barnett – End of the Day
Irreversible Entanglements – Protect Your Light
James Blake – Playing Robots into Heaven
Joan Osborne – Nobody Owns You
Kristin Hersh – Clear Pond Road
Kvelertak – Endling
Laufey – Bewitched
Lil Peep and iLoveMakonnen – Diamonds
Mustard Plug – Where Did All My Friends Go?
Olivia Rodrigo – Guts
Puddle of Mudd – Ubiquitous
Róisín Murphy – Hit Parade
Romy – Mid Air
Saliva – Revelation
Sparklehorse – Bird Machine
The String Cheese Incident – Lend Me a Hand
Sylosis – A Sign of Things to Come
Teezo Touchdown – How Do You Sleep at Night?
Tinashe – BB/Ang3l
Tyler Childers – Rustin’ in the Rain
V – Layover
ZZ Ward – Dirty Shine
Tirzah – trip9love…???
Dying Fetus – Make Them Beg for Death
Deeper – Careful!
The Coral – Sea Of Mirrors
Domkraft – Sonic Moons
Public Service Broadcasting – This New Noise
Apollo Brown and Planet Asia – Sardines
Folk Implosion Music – From KIDS
Yussef Dayes – Black Classical Music
Jonathan Wilson – Eat the Worm
Tall Tall Trees – Stick to the Mystical I
Prison – Upstate
The Handsome Family – Hollow
Jalen Ngonda – Come Around And Love Me
The Blind Boys of Alabama – Echos of The South