New Music Friday, Sept. 17, 2021

New Music Friday on The High Note

I distinctly remember the first time I heard Candlebox on the radio. I was at my cousin Mike’s house and I remember saying something like, “Is this a new Pearl Jam song?” Mike eviscerated me, “Dude,  you don’t know Candlebox,” and he went over to the radio and turned up “Far Behind.” From that moment on, which was probably around 1994, I will always know that’s Candlebox.

The grunge rock band is back for New Music Friday with its sixth album “Wolves,” released today, Friday, Sept. 17, 2021.

It’s no surprise that there is a lot of folk on my list this week with new albums from James Vincent McMorrow, The Felice Brothers and the latest in the Bob Dylan Bootleg Series “Vol. 16: Springtime in New York (1980-1985).”

Philadelphia-based hip-hop artist Moor Mother is out with her latest “Black Encyclopedia of the Air, ” art-rocker St. Vincent is out with “The Nowhere Inn,” and one of the first concerts I saw at The House of Blues in Atlantic City, Thrice, is out with the brooding “Horizons/East.”

As always, all the new albums released today, Friday, Sept. 17, 2021 are below in no particular order with my most anticipated albums in bold. Let me know what you are listening to in the comments below and on social media @highnoteblog.

New Album Releases – Friday, Sept. 17, 2021

Adia Victoria – A Southern Gothic
Alien Weaponry – Tangaroa
Candlebox – Wolves
Carcass – Torn Arteries
Charlotte Wessels – Tales from Six Feet Under
Cynthia Erivo – Ch. 1 vs. 1
Daughtry – Dearly Beloved
Eidola – The Architect
Enrique Iglesias – Final
The Felice Brothers – From Dreams to Dust
HTRK – Rhinestones
James Vincent McMorrow – Grapefruit Season
Jordan Rakei – What We Call Life
José González – Local Valley
Lil Nas X = Montero
Lindsey Buckingham – Lindsey Buckingham
Mild High Club – Going Going Gone
Mono – Pilgrimage of the Soul
Moor Mother – Black Encyclopedia of the Air
NCT 127 – Sticker
The Plot in You – Swan Song
Rage – Resurrection Day
Scotty McCreery – Same Truck
Spiritbox – Eternal Blue
St. Vincent – The Nowhere Inn
Thrice – Horizons/East
Injury Reserve – By The Time I Get To Phoenix
Employed to Serve – Conquering
Bob Dylan – The Bootleg Series Vol. 16: Springtime in New York (1980-1985)
The Beths – Auckland, New Zealand, 2020
Blunt Bangs – Proper Smoker
Mini Trees – Always in Motion
Alexis Taylor – Silence