New Music Friday, June 9, 2023

New Music Friday on The High Note

Like the temperatures, New Music Friday is heating up for June 9, 2023

First up, Trevor Powers has brought back Youth Lagoon, which has been on hiatus since 2016 with “Heaven Is a Junkyard.”

Grammy-winning artist Jason Isbell and his backing band, the 400 Unit, are offering us “Weathervanes,” another batch of heart-on-sleeve, Americana-infused rock.

The ever-inventive Jenny Lewis is back with “Joy’All” and folk singer-songwriter Jess Williamson returns with “Time Ain’t Accidental.”

The genre-defying Janelle Monáe graces us with “The Age of Pleasure.”

As always, the entire list of new albums released today, Friday, June 9, 2023 is below in no particular order. My most anticipated albums are in bold.

Let me know what you’re listening to in the comments below and on social media @highnoteblog.

New Album Releases – Friday, June 9, 2023

Amaarae – Fountain Baby
Caitlyn Shadbolt – Bloom and Surrender
Christine and the Queens – Paranoïa, Angels, True Love
Decisive Pink – Ticket to Fame
Dream Wife – Social Lubrication
Extreme – Six
Future Utopia – We Were We Still Are
Godflesh – Purge
Janelle Monáe – The Age of Pleasure
Jason Isbell and the 400 – Unit Weathervanes
Jayda – G Guy
Jenny Lewis – Joy’All
Jess Williamson – Time Ain’t Accidental
Jonny Greenwood and Dudu Tassa – Jarak Qaribak
King Krule – Space Heavy
Niall Horan – The Show
Nicholas Allbrook – Manganese
Scar Symmetry -The Singularity (Phase II – Xenotaph)
Squid O – Monolith
Tom Grennan – What Ifs and Maybes
This Is the Kit – Careful of Your Keepers
The View – Exorcism of Youth
Youth Lagoon – Heaven Is a Junkyard
Feeble Little – Horse Girl With Fish
six impala – Earwax
Boldy James and ChanHays – Prisoner of Circumstance
Statik Selektah – Round Trip
Teke::Teke – Hagata
Keaton Henson – House Party
Emile Mosseri – Heaven Hunters