New Music Friday, June 16, 2023

New Music Friday on The High Note

Happy New Music Friday, your weekly guide to the best fresh tracks that have just hit the airwaves today, Friday, June 16, 2023.

This week, we spotlight five artists who’ve pushed their musical boundaries, each delivering new projects filled with surprising twists and turns. Let’s start with the return of legendary rapper Killer Mike, whose latest album, “Michael,” is a testament to his powerful lyricism and unique hip-hop style.

John Mellencamp, the quintessential voice of heartland rock, is back with “Orpheus Descending.” If you’re a fan of his authentic, gritty Americana sound, this album won’t disappoint.

For something a bit more eclectic, check out King Gizzard and the Lizard Wizard. Their latest project, “PetroDragonic Apocalypse,” delivers an exciting blend of psych-rock, prog, and a touch of their signature experimental sound.

Singer-songwriter Yusuf / Cat Stevens graces us with “King of a Land,” showcasing his evocative storytelling and deeply emotive folk tunes.

Jazz virtuoso Pat Metheny’s “Dream Box” offers a captivating journey through contemporary jazz’s intricate and mesmerizing world.

And last but not least, don’t miss the soulful rhythms of Bettye LaVette’s new release, “LaVette!” Her unique blend of blues, soul, and rock n’ roll is irresistible.

As always, the entire list of new albums released today, Friday, June 16, 2023, is in no particular order. My most anticipated albums are in bold.

Let me know what you’re listening to in the comments below and on social media @highnoteblog

New Album Releases Friday, June 16, 2023

Ben Howard – Is It?
Bettye LaVette – LaVette!
Bonny Doon – Let There Be Music
Boris and Uniform – Bright New Disease
Chris Janson – The Outlaw Side of Me
Damian Lewis – Mission Creep
Deer Tick – Emotional Contracts
Django Django – Off Planet
Gov’t Mule – Peace…Like a River
Home Is Where – The Whaler
Jack River – Endless Summer
Kiana Ledé – Grudges
Killer Mike – Michael
King Gizzard and the Lizard Wizard – PetroDragonic Apocalypse
Kool Keith – Black Elvis 2
Origami Angel – The Brightest Days
Queens of the Stone Age – In Times New Roman…
Royal Thunder – Rebuilding the Mountain
Sigur Rós – Átta
Steve Lukather – Bridges
The Teskey Brothers – The Winding Way
Tom Grennan – What Ifs & Maybes
Yusuf / Cat Stevens – King of a Land
Gunna – A Gift & A Curse
SoFaygo – Go+
Meshell Ndegeocello – The Omnichord Real Book
John Mellencamp – Orpheus Descending
Spoon – Memory Dust
Pat Metheny – Dream Box
Motorpsycho – Yay!
Asake – Work of Art
Meshell Ndegeocello – The Omnichord Real Book