New Music Friday, July 31, 2020

The High Note

It’s incredible to see how things come back around. If you’re a student of history, music or otherwise, you’ll find things seem to work in cycles and in reality, the names and places may have changed, but there is nothing new under the sun.

That especially goes for music. Trends in music seem to come and go and music, whether it’s the resurgence of an older musician or the comeback of a song that you last heard on a cassette tape – what goes around comes around.

I remember distinctly when Alanis Morissette’s “Jagged Little Pill” was released. It was was a cultural moment in America and she was everywhere – even in one of my favorite movies – Dogma.

Well, just like Mike Tyson wearing a fanny pack, she’s back. Brandy also has a new album. There’s also a new book of poetry and an audiobook by Lana Del Rey. There’s a new “Dave’s Picks” album of the Grateful Dead playing in Philadelphia, Beyoncé visual album inspired by “The Lion King” is out now and there are new albums by The Psychedelic Furs and I’m excited for the new album by William Tyler.

Below, in no particular order, are my picks for new albums released today, Friday, July 31, 2020 – and congratulations to you for making it through another month in the Covid-19 pandemic. My most anticipated albums are in bold.

New Album Releases – Friday, July 31, 2020

Alanis Morissette – Such Pretty Forks In The Road
Lana Del Rey – Violet Bent Backwards over the Grass (poetry audiobook)
Beyoncé – Black Is King
Brandy – B7
Drizzy – The Sun and Her Scorch
Dominic Fike – What Could Possibly Go Wrong
E^ST – I’m Doing It
Fontaines D.C.-  A Hero’s Death
Grateful Dead – Dave’s Picks Volume 35
Hockey Dad – Brain Candy
Kota Banks – Sweet and the Spice
Paul Kelly and Paul Grabowsky – Please Leave Your Light On
The Psychedelic Furs – Made of Rain
Rival Consoles – Articulation
Creeper – Sex, Death and the Infinite Void
Madeline Kenney – Sucker’s Lunch
Imperial Triumphant – Alphaville
Charley Crockett – Welcome To Hard Times
Mike Polizze – Long Lost Solace Find
Daniel Blumberg – On&On
Land of Talk – Indistinct Conversations
Thanya Iyer – Kind
Trevor Powers Capricorn
Ganser – Just Look At That Sky
Romare – Home
Alex Izenberg – Caravan Château
Le Ren – Morning and Melancholia
Alain Johannes – Hum
The Ninth Wave – Happy Days!
The Dirty Streets – Rough and Tumble
Steve Howe – Love Is
The Coronas – True Love Waits
Suzie Stapleton – We Are The Plague
Wye Oak – No Horizon
Akon – Ain’t No Peace
Phoebe Ryan – How It Used To Feel
Goldray – Feel the Change
E.m.m.a. – Indigo Dream
Mother Tongues – Everything You Wanted
Jordana – Something To Say
Colorama – Chaos Wonderland
Natalie Duncan – Free
Ian Skelly – Drifters Skyline
Alcatrazz – Born Innocent
Thundermother – Heat Wave
William Tyler – Music From First Cow
Prins Thomas – Træns
Eyedress Let’s – Skip to the Wedding