Fresh Audio For Your Ears – Friday, June 24, 2016

The Avett Brothers
The new releases for Friday, June 24 are polished albums from established artists. Although we may not be meeting any new bands, we’re saying goodbye to one through a farewell album. But The High Note isn’t going anywhere. Connect with #TheHighNote on FacebookTwitterGoogle+Instagram and Pinterest.



The Avett Brothers – “True Sadness”

The Avett Brothers - True Sadness Folk-rockers The Avett Brothers draw from a plethora of musical influences for the band’s ninth album, “True Sadness,” released Friday, June 24. Produced by Rick Rubin, “True Sadness” runs the gamut of sounds we’ve heard on previous albums from The Avett Brothers. With folksy lyrics and influences of bluegrass, blues, rock ’n’ roll and pop, The Avett Brothers are a group of dedicated musicians and songwriters. Led by Scott Avett on banjo and Seth Avett on guitar, the band also includes cellist Joe Kwon and bassist Bob Crawford. Together, they have polished their act and Rubin has pulled some of the best sounds from the band on the last three albums, including “True Sadness.” See The Avett Brothers Saturday, Aug. 13 at The Amphitheater at Coney Island Boardwalk in Brooklyn, New York and with Langhorne Slim Sunday, Aug. 14 at Musikfest at the Sands Steel Stage at PNC Plaza in Bethlehem, Pennsylvania. Get “True Sadness” from The Avett Brothers, Amazon, iTunes, Google Play, Spotify and Tidal.


Deerhoof – “The Magic”

Deerhoof - The MagicExperimental-rock band Deerhoof releases its newest project influenced by all the band’s members, “The Magic” Friday, June 24. The follow up to “La Isla Bonita,” released in 2014, the band’s 14th studio album is a cornucopia of noise emanating from thumping bass lines, a thunder of drums and fiery guitar riffs. “The Magic,” here is how the band holds together a mosaic of music that includes influences of punk rock, 80s pop, surf rock and funky jazz. See Deerhoof with Kill Alters Saturday, June 25 at Union Transfer in Philadelphia, Pennsylvania and Sunday, Oct. 2 at the Roots Picnic at Bryant Park in New York City. Get “The Magic” from Polyvinyl Records, iTunes, Amazon, Google Play, Spotify and Tidal.


DJ Shadow – “The Mountain Will Fall”

DJ Shadow - The Mountain Will FallMastermind instrumental hip-hop producer DJ Shadow explores vast soundscapes on his fifth album, “The Mountain Will Fall,” released Friday, June 24. Known for his fine blend of jazz, electronic and R&B samples, the California-based DJ draws from an even more diverse crate of creations on his latest album. “The Mountain Will Fall” opens with orchestral sounds on the title track and it also features DJ Shadow collaborations  with Run the Jewels on “Nobody Speak,” with German producer Nils Frahm on “Bergschrund,” and with Ernie Fresh on “The Sideshow.” See DJ Shadow Monday, Oct. 10 at the Theatre of Living Arts in Philadelphia, Pennsylvania and Friday, Oct. 14 and Saturday, Oct. 15 at the Music Hall of Williamsburg in Brooklyn, New York. Get “The Mountain Will Fall” from DJ Shadow, iTunes, Amazon, Google Play, Spotify and Tidal.


Hot Hot Heat – “Hot Hot Heat”

Hot Hot Heat - Hot Hot HeatFor a little more than 15 years, Hot Hot Heat has held its position in the indie-rock fray and now the Canadian band released its fifth and final album Friday, June 24.  After a strong start to the century, the band has petered off since “Future Breeds,” released in 2010. “Hot Hot Heat” is the band’s attempt to go out on a high note by collecting its 10 best songs and putting them on wax in the studio. The result is pinnacle Hot Hot Heat, similar to the almost unavoidable sound the band produced in the early 2000s. The band’s first single, “Kid Who Stays In The Picture” is a throwback to 70s organs and 80s vibes with the opening “Some days were daydreams/ some days were sunbeams” Get “Hot Hot Heat” from Hot Hot Heat, iTunes, Amazon, Google Play, Spotify and Tidal.