Fresh Audio For Your Ears – Friday, April 29, 2016

King Gizzard & the Lizard Wizard
This week the High Note Blog hits just about every genre of music with the new albums released Friday, April 29.
  • Psychedelic rock band King Gizzard & the Lizard Wizard get weird and intense on “Nonagon Infinity.” [read]
  • Spacey ambient sounds overpower Brian Eno’s latest album, “The Ship.” [read]
  • Relive your punk rock past with Less Than Jake’s release of a 2001 show in London, “Live from Astoria.” [read]
  • Hip-hop artist Aesop Rock pulls back the curtain behind his lyrics on “The Impossible Kid.” [read]
  • Rob Zombie goes back his roots on “The Electric Warlock Acid Witch Satanic Orgy Celebration Dispenser.” [read]
  • On “Delusions Of Grand Fur,” Rogue Wave hits with some unexpected electronic influence. [read]
  • Say Yes rock out with a classic vibe on its debut album “Real Life Trash Mag.” [read]
  • Indie rock and classical music mash up with a collaboration between Ensemble Dal Niente and Deerhoof on “Balter / Saunier.” [read]
Share what you’re listening to using #TheHighNote on FacebookTwitterGoogle+Instagram and Pinterest.

King Gizzard and the Lizard WIzard - Nonagon InfinityKing Gizzard & the Lizard Wizard – “Nonagon Infinity”

Melbourne-based psychedelic rock band King Gizzard & the Lizard Wizard released its eighth album “Nonagon Infinity” today, Friday, April 29. It is described by the band as a never-ending album, since its nine tracks link into one another with the closing beat on “Road Train” picks right back up with the opening beat of “Robot Stop.” The album sounds as intense as its construction. With noisy, fast-tempo guitar riffs, rapid-fire drumming and explosive lyrics, “Nonagon Infinity” is an energy volcano. See King Gizzard & The Lizard Wizard 8 p.m. Sunday, May 15 at The Underground Arts in Philadelphia, Pa. Get “Nonagon Infinity from King Gizzard & the Lizard Wizard, iTunes and Spotify.

Brian Eno - The ShipBrian Eno – “The Ship”

Electronic artist Brian Eno released his 10th ambient sound installation album, “The Ship” Friday, April 29. On “The Ship,” the 20-minute title track takes listeners down a path of synths whitewashing the audio landscape. On his website, Eno said, “The piece started as an ambient work intended for a multi channel sound installation in Stockholm, but during the making of it I discovered that I could now sing a low C – which happens to be the root note of the piece. Getting older does have a few fringe benefits after all. From that point the work turned into an unusual kind of song… a type I’ve never made before where the vocal floats free, untethered to a rhythmic grid of any kind.” Get “The Ship” from Brian Eno, iTunes, Amazon and Spotify.

Less Than Jake - Live From AstoriaLess Than Jake – “Live from Astoria”

Ska-punk band Less Than Jake released “Live from Astoria” Friday, April 29; a recording a show recorded 15 years prior during a three-day run at the Astoria Theatre in London. Seeing a live Less Than Jake show is a special experience and incredible to witness. When this album was recorded, I was listening to Less Than Jake as the band was coming off of, what was  my introduction to the band, “Borders & Boundaries.” Including songs like “Look What Happened,” “All My Best Friends Are Metalheads” and an encore of “Gainesville Rock City,” “Live from Astoria” captures the youthful spirit of the summer of 2001. See Less Than Jake at Friday, July 8 on the Vans Warped Tour at BB&T Pavilion in Camden, NJ. Get “Live from Astoria” from Rude Records and Amazon.

Aesop Rock - The Impossible KidAesop Rock – “The Impossible Kid”

In the age of digital music, most albums are available for streaming prior to release. Aesop Rock decided put the 15 tracks of his latest album, “The Impossible Kid,” to a shot-for-shot remake of “The Shining” directed by Rob Shaw, and stream it on YouTube to stream prior to its April 29. The Portland-based rapper’s seventh studio album may be his most personal to date. Aesop Rock maintains his signature flow but isn’t hiding the meaning of his words behind cryptographic lyrics; he’s basically telling us how he feels. See Aesop Rock with Rob Sonic and DJ Zone, Homeboy Sandman and DJ Sosa Saturday, June 11 at Union Transfer in Philadelphia, Pa. Get “The Impossible Kid” from Fifth Element, iTunes, Amazon and Spotify.

Rob Zombie - The Electric Warlock Acid Witch Satanic Orgy Celebration DispenserRob Zombie – “The Electric Warlock Acid Witch Satanic Orgy Celebration Dispenser”

It’s been three years since Rob Zombie has released a solo album and today, Friday, April, 29, he releases “The Electric Warlock Acid Witch Satanic Orgy Celebration Dispenser.” Zombie said that he hasn’t put this time into an album since his first studio album, “Hellbilly Deluxe.” The heavy metal guitarist, singer and songwriter turned director, screenwriter and producer, puts all of his talents into “The Electric Warlock Acid Witch Satanic Orgy Celebration Dispenser” as he will also direct a movie to go along with the album. See Rob Zombie with Korn Friday, Sept. 2 at BB&T Pavilion in Camden, NJ. Get “The Electric Warlock Acid Witch Satanic Orgy Celebration Dispenser” from Rob Zombie, iTunes, Amazon and Spotify.

Rogue Wave - Delusions Of Grand FurRogue Wave – “Delusions Of Grand Fur”

The High Note loves a good pun, and a good album; Rogue Wave delivers on both with “Delusions Of Grand Fur,” its latest album released Friday, April 29. The California-based quartet’s sixth album is full of its lo-fi indie rock greatness. One of my favorite aspects of “Delusions Of Grand Fur” was the vast difference between its folky-sounding songs, sun-soaked California harmonies and electronic synths. At times, the band explores its influences of electronic dance music and hip-hop while staying within its warm sonic comfort zone. See Rogue Wave with Hey Marseilles Sunday, May 15 at Johnny Brenda’s in Philadelphia, Pa. Get “Delusions Of Grand Fur” from Easy Sound, iTunes, Amazon and Spotify.

Say Yes - Real Life Trash MagSay Yes – “Real Life Trash Mag”

The Ontario, Canada-based rock band Say Yes releases its debut full-length album “Real Life Trash Mag” Friday, April 29. Comprised of members of Alexisonfire and Saint Alvia, the band has a punk rock attitude and a classic rock vibe. With a catchy hook on its first single, “Once Forward, Twice Back” and driving guitar riffs throughout the album, the band shows its passion for intensity and talent in songwriting. The trio may have an old school sound but its energy is fitting for 2016. Tracks like “You’re Mine,” shows how the band can blend a classic soul and high-volume rock ‘n’ roll. Get “Real Life Trash Mag” from Dine Alone RecordsiTunes, Amazon and Spotify.

Dal Niente and Deerhoof - Balter / SaunierDal Niente & Deerhoof – “Balter / Saunier”

The first collaborative record between Ensemble Dal Niente and Deerhoof, “Balter / Saunier” was released today, Friday, April, 29. The Chicago-based contemporary classical music collective and the California-based rock band team up for on “Balter / Saunie,r” featuring arrangements by Deerhoof drummer Greg Saunier and Brazilian composer Marcos Balter. The album is broken down into two parts; “meltDown Upshot” by Balter, a 7-part piece of jazz, pop and avant garde music; and “The Deerhoof Chamber Variations,” in which Dal Niente uses Deerhoof songs as its source material. The later spawns directly from a 2012 set that sparked this mashup. Get “Balter / Saunier” from iTunes, Amazon, Bandcamp and Spotify.