New Music Friday, Oct. 9, 2020

The High Note

I’m still hanging on to those lingering feelings of summer here at The High Note, even as we enter our second New Music Friday of October. Still, at the top of the list you’ll see Bahamas, which just sounds warm, which is good enough for me to keep those sun rays shining in my face.

As I already mentioned indie folk-rocker Afie Jurvanen, who goes by Bahamas, and is really from Canada, is among my picks for new albums released today. As are albums by the classic rock band Blue Öyster Cult, souther rockers Brothers Osborne, hipster pop icons Future Islands, prolific jazz pianist Sun Ra and singer-songwriter Loudon Wainwright III, who, apparently, would rather be in a band.

Of course, there are a lot more albums than that released today, including albums by Trey Songz, Garcia Peoples, Emmy The Great, The Budos Band Concrete Castles and Babalyon Circus, and many more.

Those and the ones in bold below are the albums that were released today, Friday, Oct. 9, 2020 that are on my playlist. Let me know what you’re listening to in the comments below or on social media.

New Albums Released Friday, Oct. 9, 2020

Bahamas – Sad Hunk
BlocBoy JB – Fatboy
Blue Öyster Cult – The Symbol Remains
Brothers Osborne – Skeltons
Cepeda – Con Los Pies en el Suelo
Dawn – Dawndididawn
Dizzee Rascal – E3 AF
Future Islands – As Long as You Are
Kiiara – Lil Kiiwi
Machinedrum – A View Of You
Mary Lattimore – Silver Ladders
Matt Zo – Illusion of Depth
Reason – New Beginnings
Sub Focus and Wilkinson – Portals
Sun Ra – Swirling
Trey Songz – Back Home
METZ – Atlas Vending
Touché Amoré – Lament
Headie One – EDNA
Emmy The Great – April/月音
Travis – 10 Songs
Slow Pulp – Moveys
Garcia Peoples – Nightcap At Wits’ End
Venom Prison – Primeval
The Budos Band – Long In The Tooth
Andy Bell – The View From Halfway Down
Loudon Wainwright III – I’d Rather Lead A Band
Carla Bruni – Carla Bruni
Concrete Castles – Playsound
Weki Meki – New Rules
D-Block Eurpoe – The Blueprint – Us Vs. Them
Lama Lobsang Palden and Jim Becker – Compassion
Ustad Saami – Pakistan Is for the Peaceful
Babylon Circus – State Of Emergency
Yasin – More To Life
Ron Miles – Rainbow Sign
Drew Citron – Free Now
The Twilite Tone – The Clearing
Miguel Atwood-Ferguson and Carlos Niño – Chicago Waves