New Music Friday, Aug. 28, 2020

The High Note

The world is a crazy place right now, but the music plays on.

Whether it is racial injustice, coronavirus, politics, your job, the neighbor’s dog or just the weather – there is a lot taking its toll on people today. But, music can help. It can help you calm down, amp you up, help understand or forget about what is going on. Sometimes, it can do all of those things at the same time.

I try to keep it positive here at The High Note so there is a lot of good music out there to help you feel better. This week, there is a whole lot. I distinctly remember buying Metallica “S&M” when it was released and today the sequel is announced; like most sequels, I’m less excited but intrigued nonetheless.

I’ve been looking for the new album by Toots and the Maytals since I heard about it a few weeks ago and I’ve been on a big Molly Tuttle kick lately in my lead-up to the 59th annual Philadelphia Folk Festival. I’m also stoked about new albums by Angel Olsen, The Allman Betts Band, Walter Trout and Gregory Porter.

I also wouldn’t miss two collections focused on specific genres “Folk N’ Roll, Vol. 1: Tales of Isolation” by Ondara and the third installment in the “Jazz is Dead” series by Ali Shaheed Muhammad, Marcos Valle and Adrian Younge.

Below is the full list of albums The High Note picks that were released today, Friday, Aug. 28, 2020. My most anticipated albums are in bold.

New Album Releases, Friday, Aug. 28, 2020

The Lox – Living Off Xperience
Metallica with the San Francisco Symphony – S&M2
Nasty C – Zulu Man with Some Power
Pig Destroyer – The Octagonal Stairway
Pvris – Use Me
Sam Fischer – Homework
Seether – Si Vis Pacem, Para Bellum
Sevdaliza – Shabrang
Toni Braxton – Spell My Name
Ulver – Flowers of Evil
Internet Money – B4 the Storm
Wifisfuneral – Pain?
Zella Day – Where Does the Devil Hide
Katy Perry – Smile
Angel Olsen – Whole New Mess
Kelly Lee Owens – Inner Song
Disclosure Energy
Dua Lipa and the Black Madonna Club – Future Nostalgia (DJ Mix)
Widowspeak – Plum
Dream Nails – Dream Nails
Rich Brian – 1999
Toots & The Maytals – Got To Be Tough
The Allman Betts Band – Bless Your Heart
Yello – Point
Flight – Walking W
Jyoti – Mama, You Can Bet!
Clt Drp – Without The Eyes
Walter Trout – Ordinary Madness
Molly Tuttle – …but i’d rather be with you
RedVeil – Niagara
Sarah Walk – Another Me
Savoy Brown – Ain’t Done Yet
Samia – The Baby
Narrow Head – 12th House Rock
Belako – Plastic Drama
Aidan Knight – Aidan Knight
Nines – Crabs in a Bucket
Jaden – CTV3: Cool Tape Vol. 3
Bob Moses – Desire
Tigran Hamasyan – The Call Within
Danny Keane – Roamin’
Bettye LaVette – Blackbirds
Taco Hemingway – Jarmark
Gregory Porter – All Rise
Protoje – In Search of Lost Time
International Teachers of Pop – Pop Gossip
Ondara – Folk N’ Roll, Vol. 1: Tales of Isolation
Ali Shaheed Muhammad, Marcos Valle and Adrian Younge – Marcos Valle JID003
Matt Wilson – Quartet Hug!
Billy Childs – Acceptance
Motorpsycho – The All Is One